In THE PSP CHRONICLES, author Tim Brown struggles to a place of peace after receiving a life-changing diagnosis. Soon after Brown discovers that his memory lapses, his changed gait, and his moodiness are all attributed to Progressive Supranuclear Palsy (PSP), a rare neurodegenerative disorder similar to Parkinson’s, he begins a journal to record his experiences. THE PSP CHRONICLES is the memoir-esque result of these efforts.

In his narrative, Brown works hard to record the daily burden of living with a neurodegenerative disease. Keeping this record of his daily life helps him realize that his faith has enabled him to lay by inner stores of hope upon which he can still draw.

Without a better sense of Brown’s pre-diagnosis family life, work life, and personal life, readers have to strain to grasp the post-diagnosis fall-out. Despite this—and perhaps because of it—Brown’s narrative can be affecting.

THE PSP CHRONICLES is not meant to explain PSP or to give readers comprehensive (or even objective) insight into PSP’s destructive path. Instead, THE PSP CHRONICLES is meant to show readers how an unexpected, incredibly difficult, and life-altering diagnosis has affected the life of this man Tim Brown.

As Brown writes, “This story and subsequent books aren’t meant to be perfect written works. This is a true story of my personal journey with a rare, terminal brain disease.” In this sense, Brown doesn’t have to explain how his external and internal life have been devastated: It’s written on the page.

THE PSP CHRONICLES is raw, because the journal is delivered as-is; it is episodic and not organized as a tension-driven story. It provides insight into an everyman’s experience writing through a devastating disease.

Amy Edelman

IndieReader

Jennifer: I am continually amazed at your faith and willingness to share and open your life to help others, and I hope you know how much that has meant to me, and this widespread community.

Sarah: I enjoy your posts immensely, Tim, although so sorry for your struggles. I appreciate your philosophical outlook and poetic expression, as well as your frankness and the details about your physical condition.

Marie: Your PSP Chronicles are invaluable. Thank you so much for all your hard work. I am beginning to understand what my husband has been through and what is ahead of me. You are a good man and are giving all of us an insight from the sufferer’s point of view.

Patrick: This paragraph in your blog I found particularly relevant to how I feel sometimes… even though I’m only at the beginning of my journey. “I have never truly lingered on my own mortality, although I must admit it has given me pause on more than one occasion. I’ve made my peace with God long ago and I’m comfortable with that; however, like most, I’m in no hurry to go”.

EC: I’m grateful for your shared experience and insight. I deeply admire your stubborn resistance to PSP, and your ability to write so clearly and honestly. I enjoy your humor.

DD: Oh my Goodness … what an awesome blog. I don’t often share too many of these PSP posts with my husband but had to share some of your paragraphs with him … we laughed, and we cried. In our pretense that life is normal, it felt good for us to share the humor and sadness of this disease!

SS: Tim. You are indeed an incredible & admirable individual. Please keep posting because you help us understand PSP more than ever.

 Kobo

Cindy: I smiled,  frowned, laughed and cried. Thank you Tim for sharing your story – a honest, raw account from someone living with PSP.

 

 Kobo

Margarita: I just finished your book. I thought it was excellent. I look forward to the next book.

 

 

A no-holds-barred look at life with PSP

on September 2, 2018
Heather – Thank you Tim and Trish for having the courage to open your life to view. Reading about your struggles, from the first signs of illness to the diagnosis and beyond to your daily challenges really brings home what a devastating effect PSP has. 

 Account of one who lives with PSP and early onset dementia.

on September 3, 2018

PSP (Progressive Supranuclear Palsey) is a mid-life neurodegenerative disease. There is no medication for curing it or slowing it down. At first it is often mis-diagnosed as Parkinson’s, but Parkinson’s produces ALPHA-SYNUCLEIN in the brain, and PSP produces TAU. Two very different brain diseases.

The duration and the appearance of symptoms differs from person to person. Dudley Moore died of PSP.

I just finished this book, written by Tim Brown who takes us with him on his journey with PSP/early onset dementia. At the age of 57, July 2013, he is given his diagnosis. The book starts in 2012 and leaves us in 2016 with promises of a another book. Tim started with a blog until he decided to turn the blog into a book. The book takes us through Tim’s daily life…..lives in Canada with his 2nd wife, a biological son, a step-son, several cats, two dogs, and caretakers that come for a few hours every few days.

It is not a how-to book for caretakers, but an insight into the progress of the disease, the symptoms, the challenges, and the extra-ordinary spirit, strength, and faith that Tim has.

My son died of PSP at the age of 55 years old, May 4, 2017. My son was highly academically educated, and with much hope and expectation for his future. Tim’s approach to his illness has given me much insight. I have read several other books by caretakers of PSP. I find this book offers so much more than the others I have read.

Tim WRITES CLEARLY. I found it to be a very honest account, and because of his faith without self-pity. I Highly recommend this book, and I look forward to the next volume.

on August 31, 2018

As a caregiver for my late husband who died in 2012 of PSP, I can honestly say this was a very telling perspective from the patients view. Thank you for writing this book. As a CurePSP Support Group and Carepartner Facilitator I plan to share this book with both patients and caregivers. I believe it will be very helpful as they are challenged with the progression of this horrific disease.

Ileen McFarland
CurePSP Board Member
Chair, Patient & Carepartner Advocacy Committee

on September 6, 2018
This book is written through the lens of a person with PSP which I find amazing. It’s written with humility and humor woven in. The book gives us an insight of the struggles and decline this god awful disease brings . Reading this book reminded me of what it was like in the earlier stages for my husband who has been fighting PSP progression for many years.

Transparent and honest look at life with PSP

on August 25, 2018
Tim is a dear friend of mine. He and my husband, Mike Sweeney, who he dedicates this book to journeyed this road of PSP together until Mike’s journey sadly came to an end a year ago. Tim is so transparent, open and honest about his journey. He draws you into his every day battle of daily struggles he faces day in and day out with PSP. He doesn’t try to sugar coat it. This is refreshing and very helpful to any family who finds themselves in the same situation of caring for a loved one with any brain disease. We get to read about it from the patients perspective.

Tim took on this project quietly, passionately, without input from anyone other than his editor.

It is entirely written through Tim’s voice in his journey of living life through PSP and dementia.

I appreciate Tim’s transparency throughout the book.

Reading the Progressive Supranuclear Palsy Chronicles will give the reader a greater understanding of the complexities of living with PSP and FTD (Frontotemporal   Dementia) and its challenges from Tim’s personal point of view.  Reading this chronicle from Tim’s view will lead the reader to begin to realize the major challenges that he, his family and caregivers face.

Those closest to Tim have observed that there are times that his perspective appears to weave in and out of reality.  For example from Tim’s recollection about my husband, Wayne’s journey with lung & bone cancer. Tim wrote that Wayne passed away in March 2016, which was correct. But with the Frontotemporal  Dementia  Brain Roulette that Tim so well describes , he  also  wrote elsewhere that Wayne’s memorial and Easter took place in April.  Both the memorial and Easter were in March, not April.  I look beyond the inaccuracies knowing that this book is written from Tim‘s perspective, being filtered through the Frontotemporal Dementia and Progressive Supranuclear Palsy.  Through the smoke & mirrors of this disease there is still the infallible truth that Tim loved Wayne as a brother and a close friend.   Wayne truly loved Tim and was always cheering Tim on to “Keep on Keeping on.”

At times, Tim appears to experience varying degrees of the ability to reason. Tim transparently shares with the reader the frequent moodiness that he deals with that has often lead him into anger, frustration, depression and anxiety.

As Tim describes the Brain Game Roulette – “There is no winner, only one loser: me, or whoever is on the other side of my mood swings.  In my lucid moments, I can appreciate how difficult it must be for Trish and the others, including the dogs, to deal with me.”

Yet, he is still Tim; my sister’s husband and my dear brother-in-law and friend.

Each day Tim is determined to fight this disease. He is dedicated to sharing his story and raising awareness and support for the development of treatment and a cure.

Tim, I salute you and stand with you through this journey, dear “brother –in-heart”

Why an Amazon Book Review?

Amazon is the largest platform for online book sales – The PSP Chronicles included.

Book reviews are incredibly important – it’s how readers choose what to buy and it helps a book gain traction on Amazon, amongst all the other books available for purchase. Amazon reviews carry weight, that’s why I’ll ask for them at every turn. Statistics show that authors need to aim for a minimum of 50 Amazon reviews to gain traction.

Amazon reviews are the single most critical to boost potential book sales online. The more people who review a book, the higher book’s title climbs on Amazon’s algorithm, meaning more people will see the book. There over 8 million titles for sale on Amazon, the more exposure my book receives could mean more potential sales. The higher the sales = larger donations to PSPA and Cure PSP. More donations = more money towards research for a treatment-cure and support for PSP, CBD and MSA.

Andrea Coventry – Uplifting Reads
At the time of me writing this review, it has been 6 1/2 weeks since my mother passed away from Alzheimer’s. I came across this book a couple of weeks ago and really felt that I had to read it, because of her recent struggle. While PSP and Alzheimer’s are not the same, they are both forms of dementia, so I knew there would be a lot in Tim’s story that I would understand, or hoped I would understand.
It’s not often that you find a book written by the person suffering from the dementia. We’ve had some fictional books written. There are dozens of books by caregivers and loved ones. But it’s completely different when you’re hearing it straight out of the horse’s mouth. No matter what your feelings are on the topic or how Tim has chosen to share his story, you have to give the man mad props for baring his soul and creating this book.
He describes in detail the ways in which his body is falling apart. He provides the medical terminology associated with it, most of which you will stumble over trying to pronounce in your head. Welcome to some of his struggles on a much smaller level. He talks about the pain, the stiffness, the forgetting, the tics (blinking), and, and, and… Yes, I can observe these things in people like my mother, or a friend who suffers from Friedrich’s Ataxia, or others with any other related diseases. I can describe what I see, but I cannot fully articulate what it must feel from from the other side.
Add to their complications having a son with autism. I feel his pain in that area, but as a caregiver/teacher, not as a parent. And then having multiple illnesses and deaths with close friends and family. I lost two aunts within two weeks of losing my mother, not to mention a few friends earlier in the year from various reasons. So those are other small ways I found myself relating to this book. I didn’t think I would find as many of those parallels when reading this story.
Tim tells his story in a sort of journal format. This means that sometimes there are more intriguing stories. Sometimes it is more of a boring listing of those day-to-day tasks and events. But that’s what makes the story even more real, because that’s how life operates. I think readers will gain a deeper appreciation for the struggles of those with dementia and chronic debilitating illnesses when they read this book.

An all-important patient perspective with hope

on September 25, 2018
There’s not a single case of Progressive Supranuclear Palsy (PSP) that is exactly like another. Each of those of us who have a diagnosis of PSP will have our individual challenges to face. That said, each of us also share in some of the defining elements of this disease — the vision problems, the declining sense of balance, the weirdly shifting moods — that we all understand to a greater or lesser degree depending on where we are with the disease’s progression.
Tim Brown’s case is more complex than mine, he’s got Frontal Temporal problems too, but his clear exposition of life with PSP, and its associated indignities, and his way of dealing with his challenges with grace and humor hold lessons for all us with PSP. I especially appreciated his honest description of some of the medical procedures that await, there’s nothing like reading things from a patients perspective to help prepare myself mentally for what is to come.
This isn’t a technical dissection of the disease, it is the story of a life — well lived despite the limitations imposed by PSP — and that is its chief benefit. It’s a ray of hope where not much hope can be found. Male patients, in particular, will benefit from what Tim has to say about the challenges of facing day-to-day life, and may find some inspiration of their own in how he goes about making his life as complete as possible for as long as possible.

  A legacy of bravery x

on 24 September 2018

Format: Paperback Verified Purchase

PSP , the disease that my father fought with every fibre of his being .
I have read everything that I could “get my hands on” regarding PSP and in reality that’s not a lot . It is a disease so rare, that unless you know someone suffering from and correctly diagnosed with it, you’ve probably not heard of it.
The previous books I’ve read about this condition are either from the carer or clinician’s perspective. Not this one, this is Tim’s life, his struggles, his losses, his wins, his day to day reality of living with a disease that relentlessly strips you of mind and mobility.
Tim’s determination to raise awareness of “ the disease with no treatment, no cure “ whilst living with its devastating effects is utterly inspirational. If I’m honest, I struggled for words that encapsulate just how Tim’s story and his sheer strength and humour in dealing with this cruel disease, whilst trying and succeeding to provide a legacy of research, awareness and hopefully one day a cure for PSP has touched me .I highly recommend this book not just to those of us in the “PSP” family but to all. Tim’s book is a lesson, live your life with grace, humour, bravery and fortitude and the world will be a better place .Much love to Tim and all PSP warriors like my Dad who I love and miss every day.
on 27 September 2018
Having a terminal illness, which takes away the power of speech, sight and movement, and writing down a journal so eloquently takes guts! This is a must read… not just for those with PSP, but also for those who are interested in human endurance. Well done Tim for delivering a first class read!
on September 26, 2018
The overall mission of this fabulously written book by “Tim Brown” I believe is very straight forward…
“Awareness, education, care and cure for a devastating prime of life neurodegenerative disease”
This book speaks from the heart of an inspiring man, I totally enjoyed and gathered many insights as what is to come for us, as we travel this journey of “PSP”…My love/partner/lifetime love received his third and final diagnoses of “PSP” in August 2016…This is a superbly written book, “Thank-You” so “Tim Brown”…9/26/18

October 12, 2018

Bookaholic – Review

This turned out to be a big surprise to me. Being familiar with the symptoms of both ALS and Parkinsons, I really thought this would be a downer to read. However, while it was a good insight to a man’s thoughts while knowing what his future would look like, it was also educational and truly had the occasional bit of humor we all need to get through life each day. Although you would think a book about such illness would be sad but in truth, while the whole darned subject is sad, this was not written in that manner.

I also thought it would read or seem clinical in its reading format. While it does deal with many doctor’s appointments and explanations, it’s interesting and fairly easy to read. It is called a memoir. I think a better description might be a person’s daily diary as they try to get through each day, as they must progressively deal with more and more deterioration.

Among all of the things I have written, I should also say that this book is written by a man who worked in a factory, had an autistic son and a great wife, but never conspired to write or become an author. He is an everyday person just like the rest of us only living with the onset of a horrible disease. While his aim might not have been to become an author, he has most certainly done so with this book. It’s well laid out and easy to read. Educational as I have said, but laid out so that even a layman can understand.

He is of such strong spirit. I hope this book will be an inspiration to many people to come, be they readers, caregivers, or people diagnosed with this or any such devastating illness.

Bookaholic

Kathy

October 14, 2018

I’d like to share a book review I received from a lovely lady, recently widowed and a member of our church congregation.

I wanted to say that the book that Tim wrote was a great read. Some time over the winter weather I will read it again.

Rita-Faye Fleury

 Amazon Customer

A voice for those with PSP October 22, 2018

I just finished this book and I appreciate Tim’s efforts to educate people about this disease and what a day in the life of a PSP patient feels like. My husband was diagnosed with this disease in 2013 and is not able to speak much now so Tim gives him a voice. I enjoyed Tim’s humor, that he continues to live his life and is doing everything he can to keep moving forward. I would recommend this book if you know someone with this disease, have the disease or would just like to make a difference in donating to the research of a disease that is not well known.